Jack Davey 5000m Track Championship #unipride

Mel Douglass

Tuesday night runners were greeted with pleasant conditions for the AL Parker Electrical – Jack Davey 5000m Athletics Bendigo Championship and 3000m event. A total of 10 UNI runners lined up at the starters line with Uni’s veteran athlete Mike Bieleny being crowned this years 5000m mens track champion in a time of 18:21:88 and Harriers veteran athlete Anne Buckley taking out the womens 5000m track champion title in 21:14:82.

Brian Watson was 2nd over the line in 18:28:84, and Andrew Creer in 3rd place in 18:44:83 to complete a nice little UNI trifecta! In the women’s event, Alice Wilkinson from Harriers was 2nd in a time of 21:38:66, and Susue Pedrotti in 3rd place 24:24:27.

Congratulations to all athletes that participated and of course to the race winners Mike Bieleny and Anne Buckley. A big thank you to all the wonderful time keepers, lap counters, race officials, sponsor and support crews who make Tuesday night track running a success.

Next Tuesday the 10th December is back to the usual 3000m event at the usual time of 7pm. See you then.