UNI at Athletics Bendigo Relays and Feature Handicap Events

Mel Douglass

Congratulations to all our UNI athletes and UNI little athletes who participated in the 2018 Athletics Bendigo Relays and Feature Handicap Events on Tuesday evening the 6th February.

It has been a busy time for the track cats with the highlight being in hot conditions at Athletics Bendigo’s annual relay night on Tuesday. The BUAC women’s 40+ 4×1500 team of Leah Cripps, Mel Douglas, Frances Walsh and Andrea Smith seizing the vacant title in 26:57:01 and running into the Bendigo athletics record books. Full kudos to our ladies team with Andrea recovering from injury, Leah taking out the 40+ womens division two days earlier at the Bridgwater Triathlon and Francis returning from the podium at the Goodawindi Hell of the West 10km Fun Run.


In front of a good crowd but sadly depleted by tragic injury to Mike Bieleny at the AV Country Titles in the 100m relay of all events, the all-star, all-conquering BUAC mens 50+ team of David Heislers, Ross Douglas, Craig Green and Russ Jenkins tried very hard and ran well, but missed out on breaking the existing record by 1 second to still win the 50+ 4x1500m mens event in a time of 21:36:10.

Well done to the South Bendigo ladies on their 4x1500m 50+ records but Frances Walsh has gone away plotting a BUAC 50+ ladies dream team for next season’s relay night – Jenny Buchanan and Tina McBain your names were mentioned.

Despite a ripper opening leg from the Lachlan Van Shaik the men’s open 4×1500 dream team was grievously weakened with Andy Buchanan and Matt Heislers running in the Vic mile champs resulting in evergreen veterans Darren Rowe and David Lonsdale filling in and leaving no. 4 runner Nigel Preston the impossible record breaking task of running 1500metres in about 30 seconds. The UNI open mens team ran well to finish 2nd to South Bendigo and finished in 20:54:16

Well done to Jorja Vandenberg successful in winning the handicap long jump event.

Our very young U18 girls 4×800 relay team of Pheobe Londale, Montanna Maud, Jazlin Fear and Tullie Rowe were the first female team to finish in a time of 12:22:74. Hopefully this gave the girls an idea of what they are going to try for at next year’s relay night.

In the ladies 100m handicap event, UNI was represented by Montanna Maud. Running off a handicap of 6.5m Montanna finished in 5th place in 13.19 seconds.

In the mens 100m handicap event, Uni was represented by Nigel Self and Ross Douglas. Back marker Nigel Self put in a superb run in 11.23 to secure second place to Eaglehawks Terry Hicks. Ross Douglas running off the 22m mark, finished 4th in the photo finish placings in a time of 11.26

Well done to our UNI little athletes in the girls 800m handicap event, Phoebe Londsdale , Charlotte Murphy and Ivy Bray. In the boys 800m handicap event, Max Rowe took the win with Mason Woodward in second.

Further details of results and photo finish shots on the link below.

Sorry if I have missed anything, The post can be edited.


Link to all results on the night are here: